Snow Tires - Ram Rebel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-27-2018, 08:17 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Snow Tires

Has anyone installed winter tires on their Rebel? If so, what brand name & size. Not sure how good the oem tires are in snow.
post #2 of 9 Old 03-02-2018, 09:12 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Garage
Winter tires are AWESOME! I sell tires for a living and they are one of those things where once you have a vehicle with winter tires, you'll want all your vehicles to have them. Obviously better snow and ice performance but even on cold pavement, they will out perform an all season tire - even an all season that is severe snow flake rated.

i haven't made the plunge yet on my Rebel but I will be buying some before winter 2019.

Ram Rebel Forum Moderator
Please feel free to message me with any questions, comments and concerns.

2015 Ram Rebel Gray/Black Crew Cab Short Bed 5.7 HEMI 4x4 8spd
post #3 of 9 Old 03-02-2018, 03:14 PM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Garage
It really depends on the type of snow you get as to whether the stock tires are good enough. In "dry" snow, just about any all-season tire will get you through. But in wet snow not so much. Having said that, keep in mind that the "worst" snow tires are still better than the best all-season tires in winter conditions. Where I live, we have a lot of wet snow and slushy conditions, which can challenge even the best snow tire. Night time freezing and daytime thawing. This freezing and thawing seems to occur at the morning and afternoon commute, when most people are driving. I made the mistake of not switching over to snow tires for my Rebel, and I'm regretting that decision. I've owned other 4x4 vehicles in the past, and didn't have nearly the problem I'm having with my Rebel. I'll definitely be taking my own advice and buying a set of good studless tires for next year.

post #4 of 9 Old 03-03-2018, 06:39 PM